Be Thankful for What You Have and Focus On What You Want In Your Life

ThanksgivingIn this season of Thanksgiving, I want to thank you for being a part of my careers community, either on Facebook, LinkedIn, or one of the many clients I have worked with. I’m so grateful to have the opportunity to communicate and/or work with you – you are some of the best people around!

As I reflect on this holiday, I really like that it’s all about giving thanks. And, I think having an “attitude of gratitude” is one of the most powerful emotions out there. Why is it so powerful? Because it has the capacity to change your life.

Months ago, I started writing out 10 things I am grateful for. I love doing this because it makes me begin each day by seeing all the positive things that I have in my life, and it starts my day in a positive frame of mind.

What’s so amazing about gratitude is it’s so simple, yet it has so much power. In fact, it’s so powerful it can start turning things around for you. Now, granted, being grateful all by itself will probably not turn your life entirely around, but, it CAN be the catalyst to a transformation.

Why does this work? Well, if you’re a fan of the Secret and Law of Attraction, you’ve heard the phrase “what you focus on expands.” So if you focus on all the things you’re grateful for instead of all the things that aren’t working, the universe will bring you more things to be grateful for and less of the things that aren’t working.

Now, while I do think this is true, I also know a lot of people do not believe this, or, don’t think it’s true for them. So, might I suggest another, more practical reason, for why gratitude works — because it makes you feel better.

So, start thinking about all the wonderful things in your life and that you have to be grateful for. And, with that improved mindset, you most likely can see your situation a bit more clearer and start coming up with some solutions (and maybe even take some actions) to get yourself out of it.

When you are thinking about all the things you are grateful for, feel grateful as well – really feel that gratitude throughout your body. Focus on it, and feel it radiate everywhere, from your fingers to your toes.

My wish is that you have a Blessed Thanksgiving. Wishing you much success in life and in your career,

Leave a Reply

